‘Reach for the Stars’ Wows Crowd at Kravis

J. Gwendolynne Berry, Angelo Caruso

J. Gwendolynne Berry and Angelo Caruso

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. – Local media celebrities and dance pros took to the dance floor for the 20th annual “Reach for the Stars” competition benefitting the Kravis Center’s education programs.

The evening was hosted by the Young Friends of the Kravis Center.

Zach Berg, Liz Quirantes, Jarrod Schilling

Zach Berg, Liz Quirantes and Jarrod Schilling

J. Gwendolynne Berry, one of the Palm Beach Post’s “Swirl Girls,” won top honors. Suzanne Boyd, of CBS 12, was runner-up, and the Post’s Leslie Gray Streeter placed third.

Other media contestants included Erin Guy, WPBF 25 News; Eric Roby, CBS 12; Tim Byrd “The Byrdman,” of PalmBeachLiveWorkPlay.com; and T.A. Walker of “The Mo & Sally Morning Show” on KOOL 105.5.

The celebrities paired up with some of south Florida’s top professional dancers, including Angelo Caruso, Sandra Caruso and Livia Maciel from Caruso Dancesport, Palm Beach; Alex Foraponov from Dance With Us Studios; and Diana Heilig, Michael Housel and Armando Vega-Perez from Dance Tonight.

U.S. Rep. Lois Frankel, former mayor of West Palm Beach, made a surprise appearance on the dance floor. As mayor, she participated in previous “Reach for the Stars” competitions and won in 2009.

Sydelle Meyer, Leona Chanin

Sydelle Meyer and Leona Chanin

Judges were Steven Caras, former New York City ballet dancer, photographer and keynote speaker; actress, singer and classically-trained dancer Mia Matthews; and Laurie Silvers, Kravis Center board member and president of Hollywood Media Corp.

Liz Quirantes of CBS 12 served as Mistress of Ceremonies.

Following the dance competition, guests at the April 20, 2013, program enjoyed a tasting of gourmet food and wine from local restaurants and vendors, including Angle at the Ritz-Carlton, Anthony’s Coal Fired Pizza, Cabo Flats, Café Centro, Café Chardonnay, Cha Cha’s , Echo, Havana Restaurant, Leila Restaurant, Pampas Grille, PB Catch Seafood and Raw Bar, Seasons 52 and Temple Orange at the Ritz-Carlton.

Alex Foraponov, Suzanne Boyd, J. Gwendolynne Berry, Angelo Caruso, Leslie Gray Streeter, Michael Housel-

Alex Foraponov, Suzanne Boyd, J. Gwendolynne Berry, Angelo Caruso, Leslie Gray Streeter and Michael Housel

Marcie Gorman-Althof and the Sydelle and Arthur I. Meyer Foundation were Gold Sponsors of this year’s “Reach for the Stars” benefit, and Jane M. Mitchell served as a Silver Sponsor.

For more information, visit www.kravis.org/reachforthestars.

Photos by Corby Kaye’s Studio Palm Beach.


  • « Older Entries
  • Newer Entries »