Chairs Named for 2013 ‘River of Grass Gala’

Nancy Marshall, Thais Piotrowski, Robbyn Ackner

Nancy Marshall, Thais Piotrowski and Robbyn Ackner

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla.Robbyn Ackner will chair the 2013 gala of the Arthur R. Marshall Foundation for the Everglades, while John and Nancy Marshall and Matthew and Thais Piotrowski will serve as honorary chairs.

The eighth-annual “River of Grass Gala” will be held Dec. 14, 2013, at the Colony Hotel in Palm Beach. The gala marks the 15th anniversary of the Marshall Foundation, which champions the restoration and preservation of the Everglades through science-based education and outreach programs.

Members of the planning committee include Amy Bernard, Erik Brown, Veronica Brown, Fredda Butowsky, Sally Byrd, Lois Cahill, Jimmy Cates, Yu Ling Cui, Norman Gitzen, Jaimie Goodman, Ashley Greenberg, Beate Hambster, Kim Hanson, Bobbi Horwich, Haylee Kaye, Bonnie Lazar, Denise Mariani, Nancy Marshall, Barbara McDonald, Thais Piotrowski, Michele Poole, Bernadette Shalhoub, Paul Suschak, Karen Vaughn, Phyllis Verducci, Kelly Wagner, Linda Wartow, Elaine Weber, Gisele Weisman, Jody White and Barbara Wilkinson.

The foundation, founded in 1998, has awarded more than $450,000 in scholarships and internships, planted nearly 100,000 native Florida trees in wetland areas and involved more than 5,000 volunteers in hands-on restoration projects. Annually, more than 25,000 elementary and high school students in Palm Beach County actively participate in the Marshall Foundation’s various education programs.

For more information, call (561) 233-9004 or visit

Photo by Corby Kaye’s Studio Palm Beach.


  • « Older Entries
  • Newer Entries »