Connor Boss to Headline Schepens Gala

PALM BEACH, FLConnor Boss, the Miss Florida USA finalist who for 10 years has battled an eye disease, will be the guest of honor at the Schepens Eye Research Institute/Mass. Eye and Ear gala, “A Night for Sight.”

The gala will be held Nov. 30, 2012, at The Breakers in Palm Beach.

In addition, all patrons of the event will be invited to attend a by-invitation-only kickoff cocktail reception and auction the evening prior aboard the M/Y Lady Kathryn V, which is arriving in Palm Beach for the occasion.

Connor Boss

Connor Boss

Boss, who is legally blind, is afflicted with Stargardt’s disease, a hereditary blinding eye disorder that has caused her retina and central vision to progressively worsen. President of her high school class and captain of the cheerleader’s squad, Boss has been featured on ABC’s “Good Morning America,” CNN and other national television programs. She is now a freshman at Florida State University in Tallahassee.

“American Idol” finalist Ayla Brown will entertain at the gala. Brown, 24, the daughter of U.S. Sen. Scott Brown, of Massachusetts, sang the National Anthem at the Republican National Convention. She has performed with the Boston Pops, served as the official National Anthem singer for the Philadelphia 76ers and sang for American troops in Afghanistan. She has also written her own music, performed at the Country Music Awards and introduced numerous artists during her career.

“A Night For Sight” will also include a formal fashion presentation, created by Beth Pine, Vice President and General Manager of Neiman Marcus Palm Beach.

Kathryn Vecellio, who serves on the board of both Schepens Eye Research Institute and Mass. Eye and Ear, which are affiliates of Harvard Medical School, is honorary chairman of the event.

Click on images below to enlarge.

Kay Lyons, Anne Moran and Julie Rudolph are chairing the event. Hermé de Wyman Miro is international honorary chairman. Colleen Bain, Caroline Collings, Linda Salandra-Dweck, Mary Freitas, Judith Grubman, Michele Kessler, Sandra Krakoff, Beverly Myers, Sharon O’Neil, Monika Preston, Joan Rubin, Laurie Silvers and Andrea Stark are vice chairs. Julie Rudolph serves as Auction Chairman.

Committee members include: Dusty Aronsohn, Rosalie Cohen, John A. Domenico, John Fernandez, Connie Frankino, Arlette Gordon, Cheryl Gowdy, Jerre Gowdy, Vicki Kellogg, Cheryl Marshman, Nicole Munder, Sue and Terry Murray, Anka Palitz, Beth Pine, Diana Powell, Marsha Snyder, Joanne Stringer, Dyanne Tosi and Cherie Toufanian.

Tickets are available by calling Ann Marie Ware at (617) 573-3186 or online at


  • « Older Entries
  • Newer Entries »